Lean in Fems

If you are familiar with Facebook, you should know it’s COO Sheryl Sandberg. I am a huge admirer of her movement lean in . Her conversation about leaning in urged me to write this blog post and share my experience.

I have been in the workforce for more than 2 years and I haven’t faced a situation where i wish i were a guy. But there have been instances where the guys have an advantage. I happen to know a male colleague who was sent onshore early in his career and a female colleague who had to struggle for the same spot.

If you have worked for an IT company you will know GCP/Onshore role is something which is not given away so easily(most of the time).

Both of them were of the same career level and had the same skill set. It happened naturally for him whereas for her with a lot of effort. You want to know why?, I definitely wanted to. So I asked him, “How? Did you do something different than others?”.  His answer, “One day during a casual conversation in the Men’s washroom while we were doing our thing I told the boss I would love to go onshore and he considered it a year later when the opportunity opened up “.

It got me thinking. Was the restricted access to the Men’s washroom the deal breaker for her? Turns out it was. For her it was walking up to the corner office to let the boss know about her career choice and it isn’t as easy as catching up in the washroom.

From this, two things are very clear.

  • Women don’t express their career demands/choices/expectations very often.
  • There are not enough women in the top, so that girls can also have such washroom conversations .

Even the household environment isn’t very encouraging for working women. A married female colleague told me her husband was unhappy that she is a working woman. I was shocked, “Isn’t it good for him? You share the expense of running a family and reduce his financial burden”. She sighed, “At the end of the day, I am not at home when he returns from office. He has to make his own coffee, whereas his brother gets hot bajji’s along with the coffee from his wife(who happens to be a full time home maker). It upsets him”.

It wasn’t his fault for wanting hot bajji’s or her fault for wanting the financial independence. But it’s the flaw in the society’s set up (for not having a bajji stall near their place 😉 ).

All these needs change and will need to happen much quicker.

Women earn less than men at all educational levels and the gender pay gap widens for persons with advanced degrees

We need more women in the top. We need more women across all industries. The numbers should increase vertically and horizontally to end the equal pay myth.

Let’s make the world better and let women lead as much as the men do and pay them equally well.

Personally, I will continue to be in the workforce, voice my career choices and will choose a partner who is a real partner. I wish all the women are given the choice to do what they want in life.

Disclaimer: I solely voiced my opinion and by no means intended to hurt/misuse/disgrace anyone’s opinion or choice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. #1 by sorna prabhu on January 31, 2016 - 10:33 AM

    Hi Kiru,

    My dear friend this is the fiirst time I am reading a blog that too just because I got a notifications in FB about ur blog.

    It was really a nice blog where I see the emotional outburst of an women who missed or awaiting eagerly for an onsite, but honestly I tell you onsite jobs really not that great (LOL).

    I see a lot of contradictory or can be put in a different way debatable statements here .
    The way you sound is like a men get onsite easily but its not the case always as u mentioned its not just a washroom talk that can earn all men onsite job and I have also seen lot of men who are just like ur blog are eagerly awaiting or craving for onsite and feel the same way as the way in this blog and envy of the men who are onsite

    Moreover IT industry what I feel is that is actually partial in giving lot of benefits to women and they always have an edge over men in lot of aspects .

    As you said just because we have lot of men on top cadres, the life becomes really tough for male counterparts and its not that easy for them to climb up the ladder as compared to women.

    Another reason why women doesnt get onsite very easily is that there is always an element of risk involved because she might quit at any moment of time stating her family as a reason and nobody can question her . There are also other reasons like security, ensuring safety and always need to put other gals for company and cannot be put as an alone gal and many more.And projects in modern world is so demanding and challenging that most of the time especially in onsite requires an over night stretch in most of the days and also has an tight timing deadline. In that case its not always possible for an company to take an risk but it does not mean that women cannot be put onsite , it can be done but most of the times the PMO plans to play safely that wat I Meant.

    It doesnt mean that I am against your blog there are lot of things conveyed in your blog is really true and I am completely agree but there are few points in your blog which I feel is not acceptable according to me .So for that I can have a chat over the call lolllll

    Overall it was an nice blog and I thouroghly enjoyed reading and debated with my female friends over here along with me.

    • #2 by baddytwoshoes on February 6, 2016 - 4:53 PM

      Hey Sorna,

      First of all, thanks for writing a comment as big as the blog post.

      This isn’t about a woman’s outburst on wanting to go onshore or how nice it is. It’s about how accessible such roles are for women to take it up.

      Men are waiting for such similar opportunities and onshore roles are not the green grass as it looks like. Totally agreed with your comments on that.
      But if u read your own comments again, “The roles get demanding and women may leave the work force eventually because of family reasons or demanding work schedule and is likely to be a liability”. This is something which should change.

      Overall as a society we should have men and women in equal numbers in all industrial cadres doing things together for the better.
      That’s good for men as well.

      Who knows, u will be given a choice to be a house husband if u want to in future 😉

  2. #3 by Ashish on January 31, 2016 - 12:35 PM

    You surely have my backing on this………Takes some mettel to get it off the gut……Well clubbed….

    • #4 by baddytwoshoes on February 6, 2016 - 4:11 PM

      Thanks Ashish, appreciate your comment and the backing 🙂

Leave a Reply

