Power of introverts

I am an introvert, but there are moments in my day to day life, i wish i were an extrovert. I always liked them and wondered what it takes to be like them. For me to be an extrovert is a lot of hard work.Turns out, being an introvert is one of the best things which can happen to you. Here it is Susan cain’s TED talk on “The power of introverts”.

We live in a culture that is biased against a constellation of straits namely shyness, seriousness, introversion and this leads to a colossal waste of talent, energy and happiness.My belief, my sense, my hope that when it comes our attitude to introversion, quiet and solitude, we truly are placed in the brink of dramatic change.

Here are some of the things which Ms.Susan came up with in her talk and i loved them all.

We encourage introverts to act like extroverts and spoil the attribute of introversion and their real surprising powers.

For few people solitude is the air we breathe.

Deep thoughts comes only when you work on your own.

We need more autonomy, more privacy and much more freedom.

So, stop the madness for the constant group activities. Go to the wilderness and have your own revelation.Take a good look of what’s inside your suitcase.

PS: I watched this video thrice(may be more than that). That was mainly because of two reasons. One, my concentration level is at an all time low. Two, she is just awesome and her talk is so full of inspiring introversion.

I also bumped into another interesting video of Ms.Susan for Forbes about her book “Quiet” and in that interview her answer to the question who is an introvert and who is an extrovert is neat and clear.

What’s the difference between an introvert and an extrovert?

Introverts are people who like more quiet, less stimulating environment.where as extroverts create more stimulation to feel at their best and this is an important thing to see because people often assume that being an introvert means being anti-social. But its really not that at all. It’s just differently social. So an introvert preferring a stimulation where often they prefer to have a glass of wine with a close friend as supposed to go into a loud party full of strangers.

It’s told that more than half the world’s population are introverts and most of them have a secret sense of shame to be one. It’s time to enjoy who we are. Celebrate the you, no matter if you are an introvert or an extrovert.

  1. #1 by greenxgene on March 19, 2012 - 4:41 PM

    Thanks for sharing. I am an introvert myself but then I realized that I have powers of my own. Though shyness preoccupied majority of my life I managed to cope up with it. I know how bad it feels when people ignore you just because you tend to be alone most of the times. Anyway the harder you get hit the better you will be 🙂

    • #2 by baddytwoshoes on August 12, 2015 - 12:48 PM

      I totally agree with you. As the saying goes, the silent people have the loudest minds. Just about time everyone around you realizes it.

      PS: I am sorry for the really late response and thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

